Whom shall I fear?

My my. It has been a while since I’ve done anything remotely productive here. 

Anyway

I figured I share something I’ve learned lately. 
(Seems logical, I suppose)

Anyway

It’s common knowledge that through Christ, death and the devil have power over us no longer. Paul boldly announces this in 1 Corinthians 15:

“Death is swallowed up in victory.”
“O death, where is your victory?
    O death, where is your sting?”

So it is true. If Christ is for us, who can be against us? (Romans 8) 

Sadly, this truth is lost to me in many ways, but my failure is most prominent when I lie down to sleep. 

The devil cannot have victory over me. But he robs me of peace. 

In the dark, my imagination goes wild.
Any image can be used against me. I wimp out, turning every doll in the room so its eyes cannot see. I move anything and everything that resembles any shape that frightens me. 

I could go into much greater detail, but I won’t dwell on it. Simply put, it’s ridiculous. It’s childish. It’s embarrassing. It comes and goes in phases, and I hate it.

This week has been one of those times. It began with a strange dream about one of my images that frightens me. A few odd things later, and I was left fearing the fear I knew would try to overwhelm me once again.

And once again, I was instead overwhelmed by my God. 

I’m not a fan of popular worship songs. They always seem shallow and repetitive, all with the same message, designed to instill the same gushy feeling in the throngs that sing along.

Apparently, though, a simple worship song that suddenly was stuck in my head was all I needed to pound the truth into me. 

“I know who goes before me.
I know who stands behind.
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side.

“The One who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine.
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side.”

And only one other line really applied.

“And nothing formed against me shall stand.”

Victory over my fears is only possible through Christ.
Not by pretending I’m not a wimp.
Not by running around in a panic.

Truly, Christ’s power and goodness shines all the brighter in the darkness of my weakness.

In peace I will both lie down and sleep;
for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety. (Psalm 4:8) 

                                                                                                              Image

Share your thoughts?

