Verse of the Week: 8-11-13

Earlier today, I talked with some young kids (preschool-ish) at my church about fear in Sunday School. We drew pictures of what scared us, and talked about how God gives us courage to face our fear, and how He will always strengthen us and help us do what’s right, even when afraid. Many of them were scared of the same things, like the dark. I’ll be honest, I’m terrified of the dark, or, I guess a more accurate way to put it is that I’m afraid of what might be hiding in the dark.

This afternoon, I was thinking about how easy it would be not to be afraid if I memorized more scripture. That way, I could say the verse(s) while in fear. God promises that he will never leave us or forsake us, and the scripture is full of encouraging and powerful verses that have helped so many people while in fear.

Isaiah 43:2

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you.”

Excerpts from Psalm 91

“He who dwells in the shadow of the Most High shall abide in the shadow of the Almighty.  . . .For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the deadly pestilence. . . . “Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him;   I will protect him, because he knows my name. When he calls to me, I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will rescue him and honor him.”

What strengthens you when you are afraid? What are you afraid of? How does God help you face your fear?

Signature


Share your thoughts?

