These are a few of my least-favorite things…..and favorite things…..

You know that timeless classic: The Sound of Music?

I love it.

There’s a song in it, which I’m sure you’ve heard.

“When the dog bites, when the bee stings,
when I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
and then I don’t feel so bad.”

Some things recently have really been making me upset.

People being pharisees. (self-righteous or sanctimonious)

People tearing other people down.

People thinking they know everything.

What really bugs me, is when I notice myself doing those things. When I really think about it, I am a pharisee. I tear others down. I act like I know everything.

That’s why God sent Jesus.

To save us, even though we don’t deserve it.

Even though we could never ever earn it.

I wrote an alternate version of the song I mentioned earlier.

My Loving Father, my help and salvation,

All things good and  all kind words spoken,

Brothers and sisters and friends praising God,

These are a few of my favorite things. 

When some words sting,

When I’m doubting,

When I’m lonely,

I simply remember my help and salvation, 

And then I don’t feel

So

Bad…. 

Do you long to praise God? Do you look forward to worshiping God with His People on Sundays? Do you long to serve Him?

I do…. Sometimes….

And when I don’t,

He is gracious

He is Merciful

He is Loving.

1 John 1: 9

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

Anna Elizabeth

Share your thoughts?

