Honesty is a Virtue

Hello, girls. 🙂

 

Have you ever found yourself not being completely honest when when trying to be kind and gracious? I have. A lot. Then I think to myself, “Well, if I say what it really looks like, then I’ll hurt her feelings…” The truth is, that honesty is a virtue. I know what is feels like when somebody is not gracious, and is very rude about the cold truth. I, myself, am like that sometimes. You can be honest and gracious at the same time.

Here’s an example:

Your little sister just finished singing a song for your family. She was out of tune, half screaming, and messed up on the words. Your parents have told you to be nice to her, but you also want to be honest. What do you do?

What not to do:

Little Sister: The Singer: “Sister! Sister! Did you like it? Did I do okay?”

You: Big Sister: “Well, you sounded terrible, but you’re my little sister, and I have to be nice to you, so yes. I liked it.”

~~~~

That’s happened to me before. Not exactly in the same situation, but very similar. I’ve been reading through the Bible, and I think I’ve found a way in this situation, with me as the Big Sister, to be gracious and honest at the same time.

Little Sister: The Singer: “Sister! Sister! Did you like it? Did I do okay?”

You: Big Sister: “Oh, Little Sister! How did you get so big, that you can sing by yourself? You did your best, and I’m sure that is you practice more, you can be even better.”

~~~

See what I mean? Now, I’m a sinner. I sometimes don’t even think about be gracious, and most of the time, I forget to be honest. I start tearing people down, for my own gain. I’m a sinner, just like everybody else. But I’ve found a few verses that has really helped me lately:

Proverbs 12:17

“Whoever speaks the truth gives honest evidence, but a false witness utters deceit.”

Proverbs 24:26

“Whoever gives an honest answer kisses the lips.”

Proverbs 16:24

“Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body.”

Proverbs 22:11

“He who loves purity of heart, and whose speech is gracious, will have the king as his friend.”

~~~~

I hope this is helpful, Sisters-in-Christ.

Anna Elizabeth

4 thoughts on “Honesty is a Virtue

  1. I think you can be honest and gracious because grace seems to be honesty sugar coated in delightful words to make you sound like a nicer person. In a modern world however this can be received as pretentious by some people so sometimes it’s best not to sugar coat it. I think the amount of grace you apply to honestly depends completely on context and how you wish to be perceived in the situation you find yourself in, the people you find yourself surrounded by, rather than holding a certain amount of grace to your words at all times. I must say thought that honesty at all times cannot be truly faulted, even if not sugar coated, as honesty is always best in my opinion.

    • @ jamesrazor: Thanks for commenting. Your thoughts on the matter are valid and greatly appreciated.
      @ Anna Elizabeth: I can tell you put a lot of thought into this. 🙂 As you know, I tend to be critical, commenting negatively rather than positively and inserting my negative opinion without thinking beforehand. This was a reminder to me to find gracious ways to say what I think, and to maybe not say all that I’m thinking. 😉

Share your thoughts?

